Guatemala adopts ISDB-T for DTT

Wednesday, June 5th, 2013 

The Government of Guatemala has announced in its official gazette that it has adopted the Japanese-Brazilian ISDB-T system as its broadcasting standard for digital terrestrial television (DTT). A cooperation agreement with Brazil will be put in place in order to support the implementation of the system.

Guatemala is the 14th country to adopt the system alongside Uruguay, Argentina, Paraguay, Chile, Bolivia, Peru, Ecuador, Venezuela, Costa Rica, the Philippines and Botswana, as well as Brazil and Japan. Honduras and El Salvador, Guatemala’s neighbouring countries, have also shown interest in ISDB-T, but have not yet announced which system they will adopt.