Arianespace to launch ARSAT-2 on September 30, 2015

Thursday, September 24th, 2015 
Arianespace logo

Arianespace to launch satellites for Australia and Argentina

EVRY — On its ninth launch of 2015 from the Guiana Space Center in French Guiana, and the fifth Ariane 5 mission, Arianespace will teaming up with two major countries in the southern hemisphere to enhance their satellite telecommunications services: with Australian operator nbn for the Sky Muster satellite, and with Argentine operator ARSAT for ARSAT-2. With this strategic launch for the Australia and Argentina, Arianespace proudly supports two new regional operators.

The launch will be carried out from Ariane launch complex No. 3 (ELA 3) in Kourou, French Guiana.

Targeted orbit:

Perigee: 250 km
Apogee: 35,786 km
Inclination: 6 degrees

The Ariane 5 ECA launcher is scheduled to lift off on Wednesday, September 30, 2015 as early as possible within the following launch window:

  • 5:30 to 7:15 pm, local time in Kourou, or
  • 20:30 to 22:15, UTC
  • 5:30 to 7:15 pm, in Buenos Aires
  • 10:30 pm to 00:15 am, in Paris, during the night of Wednesday, September 30 to Thursday, October 1th, 2015,
  • 6:30 to 8:15 am, in Melbourne on Thursday, October 1st, 2015.

The mission, from liftoff to release of the satellites, will last about 32 minutes and 28 seconds.

The launcher will carry a total payload of 10,203 kg on this mission, including approximately 9,417 kg for the two satellites.

The Launch Readiness Review (LRR) will take place on Monday, September 28, 2015 in Kourou, to authorize the start of operations for the final countdown.

Sky Muster is the first satellite orbited by Arianespace for the Australian operator nbn (National Broadband Network). Built by SSL of Palo Alto, California, using a 1300 platform, Sky Muster will extend high-speed Internet coverage to the entire country, including Norfolk, Christmas, Macquarie and Cocos islands.

ARSAT 2 will be the second satellite orbited by Arianespace for the Argentine operator ARSAT, following the successful launch of ARSAT-1 on October 16, 2014. Built by the company INVAP, this satellite will provide services for the Americas including direct-to- home TV broadcasts (DTH), Internet access via VSAT antennas, data transmissions and IP telephony.