Eight new broadcasters apply for DTT licences in Kenya

Wednesday, November 19th, 2014
Communications Authority of Kenya logo

According to Kenya’s Government Gazette, eight companies have applied to the Communications Authority of Kenya for new Broadcasting licences under the Kenya Information and Communications Act.

The companies, all proposing “Commercial Free-To-Air Television on the Digital Terrestrial Television Platform” businesses, are: Cosmopolitan Media, Tentacle Communications, Entertainment Channel, Akili Partners, Ephod Media, Ascending Media, Imani Radio and TV Ministries, and Triple Edge Media.

Objections to granting of the licences have to be received within 30 days.

Kenya currently has 17 licensed TV broadcasters.