Australia announces remaining digital switchover timetable

Monday, June 25th, 2012

The Minister for Broadband, Communication and the Digital Economy, Senator Stephen Conroy, today announced the proposed switchover timetable for the remaining television broadcast areas of Australia.

“The Digital Switchover is a significant moment in Australian television history and the biggest technological change in broadcasting since colour TV was introduced in this country more than three decades ago,” Senator Conroy said.

“Over 1.6 million people across five switchover regions are watching digital-only free to air TV and nationally, around 82 per cent of households have already converted to digital television.

“I am pleased to announce intended switchover dates for the remaining metropolitan and regional areas:

Switchover area	                                    switchover date
---------------                                    ----------------
Adelaide                                               2 April 2013
Tasmania                                               9 April 2013
Perth                                                 16 April 2013
Brisbane (includes Sunshine Coast and Gold Coast)       28 May 2013
Darwin                                                 30 July 2013
Sydney (includes Gosford)                           3 December 2013
Melbourne                                          10 December 2013

“I have also asked the Australian and Communications Media Authority to consider setting switchover dates for two remote areas: Remote and Regional Western Australia (25 June 2013); and Remote Central and Eastern Australia (10 December 2013).

“Setting these dates now gives broadcasters and viewers certainty as we enter the last 18 months of the national switchover process.

“Australia is well on the way to digital-only TV viewing by the end of 2013.”

To find out how to make the switch or what is happening in your area visit the Digital Ready website or call the Digital Ready Information Line on free call 1800 20 10 13.

“I look forward to the next switchover in Northern New South Wales on 27 November 2012, and to counting down across the rest of the country next year,” Senator Conroy said.