Korea to switch off analogue TV in three counties

Thursday, September 3rd, 2009

The Korea Communications Commission (KCC) has said that analogue TV services in Danyang (North Chungcheong Province), Uljin (North Gyeongsang Province), and Gangjin (South Jeolla Province) will be switched-off in the second half of 2010. Jeju Island will follow in 2011.

The regulator plans to subsidise converter boxes for those households that have not already bought a digital television or subscribed to pay TV.

More: Analog TV Services to Be Stopped in 3 Counties (Korea Times)