SADC ICT ministers adopt DVB-T2 for digital terrestrial

Wednesday, November 24th, 2010
SADC logo

Following our deliberations, we, the ministers responsible for ICT in the Southern African Development Community (SADC) Region* considered and approved the recommendations of the Committee of Senior Officials on the standard to be adopted for the SADC Region as follows:

(a) SADC Member States should adopt DVB-T2 with MPEG-4 compression as the recommended digital terrestrial standard for the Region. However, those Member States that have already started implementing DVB-T Standard should proceed with its implementation but ultimately migrate to DVB-T2 with MPEG-4 compression; and

(b) any SADC Member State that decided to adopt any other standard than DVB-T2 with MPEG-4 compression should do so in compliance with the GE-06 Agreement.

We also approved the revised SADC Digital television Migration Roadmap and the SADC Strategy on adoption of the Common position at international fora, in particular, the International Telecommunications ITU.

* Currently SADC has a membership of 15 Member States, namely; Angola, Botswana, Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC), Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, Swaziland, United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

More: Outcome of the Special Session of SADC ICT Ministers on Digital TV Broadcasting Migration