MPEG LA Updates AVC Patent Portfolio License

Monday, February 2nd, 2009
MPEG LA logo

Changes conform License coverage with revisions to the AVC/H.264 Standard

DENVER, CO, US — MPEG LA, LLC today announced that the coverage of its AVC Patent Portfolio License has been updated to conform with recent revisions to the AVC/H.264 Standard as defined in ISO/IEC 14496-10:2008, 4th Edition (2008-09-15). As a result of this update, the profiles now covered by the AVC Patent Portfolio License include Baseline, Main, Extended, High, High 10, High 4:2:2, High 4:4:4 Predictive, High 10 Intra, High 4:2:2 Intra, High 4:4:4 Intra, CAVLC 4:4:4 Intra, Scalable Baseline, Scalable High and Scalable High Intra.

The current royalty rates that apply to products and services which use one or more AVC/H.264 profiles remain unchanged during the current Term.

The AVC Patent Portfolio License is offered for the convenience of AVC/H.264 users enabling them to obtain coverage under essential patents owned by multiple patent holders in a single license as an alternative to negotiating separate licenses. MPEG LA’s objective is to provide worldwide access to as much AVC/H.264 essential intellectual property as possible for the benefit of licensees (new patent holders and essential patents may be added at no additional royalty during the current term of the License). Any party that believes it has a patent which is essential to the AVC/H.264 Standard, as defined in ISO/IEC 14496-10:2008, 4th Edition (2008-09-15), and would like to participate in the AVC Patent Portfolio License is welcome to submit its patent(s) for an evaluation of essentiality by MPEG LA’s patent experts and inclusion in the License if determined to be essential. Interested parties may request a copy of the terms and procedures governing patent submissions by going to

Current patent holders to MPEG LA’s AVC Patent Portfolio License include Apple Inc.; DAEWOO Electronics Corporation; Electronics and Telecommunications Research Institute; France Télécom, société anonyme; Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft zur Foerderung der angewandten Forschung e.V.; Fujitsu Limited; Hitachi, Ltd.; Koninklijke Philips Electronics N.V.; LG Electronics Inc.; Microsoft Corporation; Mitsubishi Electric Corporation; NTT DoCoMo, Inc.; Nippon Telegraph and Telephone Corporation; Panasonic Corporation; Robert Bosch GmbH; Samsung Electronics Co., Ltd.; Scientific-Atlanta Vancouver Company; Sedna Patent Services, LLC; Sharp Corporation; Siemens AG; Sony Corporation; The Trustees of Columbia University in the City of New York; Toshiba Corporation; and Victor Company of Japan, Ltd.