Tanzania Digital TV News

Kenya - Wananchi launches Zuku triple play service
Oct 7, 2008 – Telecommunications service provider Wananchi has unveiled Kenya's first triple play offering. Known as Zuku, the service consists of television, broadband and telephony.
News categories: Wananchi, Zuku, Broadband, Content Distribution, Digital TV, IPTV, Kenya, Tanzania

A newcomer is shaking up satellite television in Africa
Aug 14, 2008 – Gateway Communications's satellite-television subsidiary GTV, a company created just over a year ago, has signed up more than 100,000 customers in 20 countries - which, it reckons, translates into 1.25m regular viewers.
News categories: Gateway Communications, GTV, Africa, Angola, Botswana, Cameroon, Congo-Brazzaville, Côte d'Ivoire, Digital TV, Ethiopia, Ghana, Kenya, Malawi, Mauritius, Namibia, Nigeria, Rwanda, Satellite, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Subscribers, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia

New Sub-Saharan pay television to broadcast in 18 African countries
Jun 23, 2007 – A new Pay TV company has begun beaming its programmes in the five East African countries before rolling out to 13 other African countries in an ambitious project. More …
News categories: Africa, Digital TV, Kenya, Malawi, Satellite, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Gateway to broadcast English soccer to Africa
Jun 4, 2007 – Gateway Telecommunications has raised $40 million to roll out a pay-TV service (GTV) that will broadcast English Premier League soccer games to sub-Saharan Africa.
News categories: Gateway Broadcast Services, Africa, Digital TV, Kenya, Malawi, Satellite, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Gateway Chooses NDS Content Protection for New African DTH Service
Feb 26, 2007 – NDS (NASDAQ: NNDS) has announced that it has been selected by Gateway Communications to provide a security system, featuring its VideoGuard® conditional access (CA), for GTV its newly created satellite TV service for Sub-Saharan Africa.
News categories: NDS Group, GTV, Botswana, Burundi, Conditional Access, Digital TV, Ethiopia, Gambia, Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Namibia, Rwanda, Satellite, Sierra Leone, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe